The Commute from Hell

I left my apartment, smiling at the blue sky and the man who held the door for me. Today was looking up.

Things started going downhill once I got to the Sterling St. Manhattan-bound 2,5 platform.

“Due to a broken rail the 2 will be running on the express tracks between Franklin Ave. and Atlantic Ave.,” the PA announces.

I sigh and pull out my book, ready for a slight delay.

The 5 rumbles to a stop in front of me, packed to the brim with frustrated commuters. I decide to wait for the next stop. I continue to read until the 2 train squeals to a halt in front of me. The clack of my heels echoes down the mostly empty platform. This trains isn’t as packed, there’s actually a an empty seat…of course there’s spilled coffee puddled up on the floor right beneath the seat. I decide to stand.

The train pulls away from the platform with a lurch, travels on it’s merry way through the darkness, and then stops.

“We are delayed due to train traffic ahead of us. We are sorry for the inconvenience.”

No biggy. I’d left home early with the intention of grabbing a latte before heading into work. I’d just have to nix the coffee stop. The free coffee in the office wasn’t THat bad.
The train starts back up.

And stops.

“We are delayed due to train traffic ahead of us. We are sorry for the inconvenience.”
The train starts back up.

And stops.

“We are delayed due to train traffic ahead of us. We are sorry for the inconvenience.”

We finally get past the broken rail. The train unloads at Atlantic Ave., people flee from the delays. Not me. I’ve gotta stick it out to Times Square.

We finally pull away from the station, and resume the normal 2 line schedule.

We make it somewhere between Clark St. and Wall St.

And we stop.

“We are delayed due to train traffic ahead of us. We are sorry for the inconvenience.”

And we sit. And Sit. And sit.

“Due to an emergency on both the uptown and downtown 1 trains, we are delayed.”

And we sit. And sit. Sit. Sit. Sit.

“Due to an emergency on both the uptown and downtown 1 trains, we are delayed.”

And we sit. And sit. Sit. Sit. Roll eyes. Sit.

A train attendant pokes his head into our car, repeating the message we’ve been hearing over the PA for the last 15 minutes.

“Well, at least he told us to our face. A nice, personal message,” the lady next to me comments as she adjusts her red scarf.

“I’m so late, and this is all on my own time,” the lady on the other side of me grumbles.

I go back to reading.

“It looks like the emergency has been handled,” the PA announces. “We will be moving again in two to three minutes.”

It’s after 10 by now. I’m officially late.

Comments
One Response to “The Commute from Hell”
  1. Writer Jobs says:

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 23 other followers

