Day 3 – Your Favorite Series

Kushiel's Legacy series

Day 3 on 30 days of books!

My favorite series of all time is Kushiel’s Legacy by Jacqueline Carey. I read this book at the advice of a friend, who saw me reading one too many vampire novels. He challenged me to read something of his choosing, and guaranteed I would like it better than the book I had in my hands that minute (I believe it was something by Kim Harrison). I figured I had nothing to lose, so I went out and bought Kushiel’s Dart at his urging.

I COULDN’T PUT THE DAMN THING DOWN. I slept about 4 hours a night until I finished the door stopper of a book. I loved it so much I went out and got a tattoo based on the main characters…

So what’s this series all about?

Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey overflows with complex characters, a twisting plot, love, hate, joy and tragedy. It is an excellent book that will only leave readers wanting more.

The narrator: Phèdre nó Delaunay, a trained spy, courtesan worthy of kings, a god-touched mortal and anguisette (one who feels intense pleasure in the place of pain). The setting: Terre D’Ange, a land graced by the feet of angels who left their legacy permanently, and elegantly, stamped on the faces of their descendants. (READ MORE)

The series is divided (so far) into three trilogies. The first follow Phedre, the second Imriel, and the third Moira. I’ve liked each of the trilogies, but many of Carey’s biggest fans weren’t happy with Moirin – they though she was too tame.

Here’s my opinion:

Jacqueline Carey sends us on yet another fantastic journey with her latest book in the stunning Kushiel’s Legacy series. The beautiful descriptions, relatable characters, and her use of religion and mythologyin magical ways will enchant all fantasy lovers.

Follow Moirin mac Fainche of the Maghuin Dhonn as she travels from the heart of Ch’in territory to the cursed heights of Kurugiri in search of her errant peasant boy, Bao. She’ll confront an angry Tatar princess, a zealous Vralian priest, and the twisted Spider Queen. (READ MORE)

The 9th book in the three trilogy set is about to come out. I can’t wait! I recommend this book to anybody who has read/watched and loved A Game of Thrones. Same genre and same types of characters.

Happy reading.

Comments
One Response to “Day 3 – Your Favorite Series”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] it’s been established that I LOVE the Kushiel’s Legacy series by Jacqueline Carey. But which of the currently eight books is my […]



Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 23 other followers

