Day 2 – A Book You’ve Read 3 Times

Books I’ve read at least three times:

….I think that’s all. There’s plenty of books I’ve read twice, but three times? Now that’s obsession. I read each previous book before a new one came out, and would read each book before it’s designated move came into theaters (except for the 7th one, I was too busy with school. But it’s sitting on my desk, in my To-Be-Read pile right this moment). I’ve probably read the first book about 10 times…sad I know. But I love Harry Potter.

The characters are oh-so-real, the plot is deep and spans across multiple books, and it’s a classic struggle of good versus evil that most people love to dig their teeth into.

Nothing would please me more than a weekend trip to Universal Studio’s new Wizarding World of Harry Potter. 

And now that the series is about to end…I don’t know what to do with myself. This series has been a part of my life since 6th grade…and now I have a master’s degree. It’a all about to end! I’ll just have to keep my fingers crossed the J.K. Rowling comes out with another great series, with new characters, a new world, and new plot twists.

My Review of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix:

J.K. Rowling’s fifth installment in the seven-book Harry Potter series, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, is decidedly darker than its predecessor. Harry reflects this darkness, but the great dialogue and exciting new characters balance out the grumpy protagonist.

The story both begins and ends on a warm summer day, but nothing in the middle mirrors this cozy setting. In their fifth year at Hogwartz, Harry, Ron and Hermione find themselves preparing for their O.W.L.S., secretly teaching themselves Defense Against the Dark Arts, dodging Professor Umbridge and her Slytherin cronies, dealing with awkward new romances, defending themselves against Lord Voldemort and mourning the death of a friend.

The readers, however, find themselves dealing with an irritable Harry. He says, thinks, and does things “hotly,” “moodily,” and “savagely” quite often, adding entirely too much teen angst into an already dark story. The readers feel bad for Ron and Hermione, especially when Harry screams such things like “ME, I’VE BEEN STUCK AT THE DURSLEY’S FOR A MONTH! AND I’VE HANDLED MORE THAN YOU TWO’VE EVER MANAGED AND DUMBELDORE KNOWS IT – WHO SAVED THE SORCERER’S STONE? WHO GOT RID OF RIDDLE? WHO SAVED BOTH YOUR SKINS FROM THE DEMENTORS?”

Luckily, not all the characters are so unpleasant. Fred and George Weasely add a touch of humor to the dialogue with lines like “You don’t want to bottle up your anger like that, Harry, let it all out…There might be a couple of people fifty miles away who didn’t hear you,” or, after Mrs. Weasley shrieks “Oh, Ron, how wonderful! A prefect! That’s everyone in the family!” and George indignantly responds “What are Fred and I, next-door neighbors?” Their presence often lightens the mood for both the readers and the characters.

Rowling has also added some new characters to the wizarding world. New Auror and Order of the Phoenix member Tonks makes readers laugh with her “Wotcher, Harry’s” and extreme clumsiness. Eccentric Ravenclaw Luna Lovegood makes even Neville look normal as she wears her radish earrings and spouts her opinions on Crumple-Horned Snorkacks. And then there is the new and despicable Dolores Umbridge, who proves that you don’t have to work for Lord Voldemort to be evil.

A much darker story than the first four, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix still thrills the audience with a mix of good dialogue and great characters, even if Harry himself is less than enjoyable. 

Comments
One Response to “Day 2 – A Book You’ve Read 3 Times”
  1. Samara says:

    I absolutely adore Harry Potter. I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve read those books. I haven’t picked them up in awhile, but this post made me want to read them again.

    Harry was quite irritible in book 5. And I adore the heck out of those twins. They’re too funny.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 23 other followers

